7 Layer Taco Dip and Party food!

My youngest turned 12 on Valentine’s Day.

We had already passed out party invitations for Saturday, when I found out my mom would be having emergency surgery on her broken hip on Saturday morning.

Mom came through the surgery just fine!  We are so thankful.

I spent my morning at the hospital with her and around lunch quickly ran home and started getting the party food together.

I had already planned the menu along with Brooklyn and we had everything ready to go.  My hubby made the Tuna Sandwiches while I was at the hospital and Brooklyn made the Ham Rolls the night before.

Everything turned out to be delicious!

Our Menu:

Cocktail Weiners

7 Layer Mexican Dip and chips

Tuna Sandwiches

Ham Pecan Pinwheels (recipe here)

Chocolate Dipped Strawberries (these were yummy!)

Skillet Cake with pourable Chocolate Icing (cake recipe here)

…oOo…

So on to the 7 Layer Mexican Dip recipe!

This is my first time making it and believe me, I will make it again!

Combine the refried beans and taco seasoning.  Spread on a large plate or tray.

.

Spread the combined sour cream and cream cheese over the bean layer.

.

 

Spread the combined salsa or picante sauce ove the cream cheese/sour cream layer.

.

Spread shredded lettuce over the salsa layer.

.

Finally, top with shredded cheese and chopped green onions.  Grab some chips and dig in!

7 Layer Mexican Dip

1 (1 ounce) package taco seasoning mix

 1 (16 ounce) can refried beans

1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened

1 (16 ounce) container sour cream

1 (16 ounce) jar salsa or picante sauce

1 bunch chopped green onions

1 small head iceberg lettuce, shredded

2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese

1 (6 ounce) can sliced black olives, drained (optional)

In a medium bowl, blend the taco seasoning mix and refried beans. Spread the mixture onto a large serving platter.

Mix the sour cream and cream cheese in a medium bowl. Spread over the refried beans.

Top the layers with salsa or picante sauce.  Place a layer of lettuce over sauce and top with Cheddar cheese and chopped onions.  Optional: Garnish with black olives.

12 responses to “7 Layer Taco Dip and Party food!

  1. Pingback: 10 Superbowl Dips To Make Your Party A Hit!

  2. ripe tomato wouldd be good on here to and taco meat would make this a great dip

  3. I make this recipe since the early 80’s for dipping and for the warmer months for a meal with the addition of avocados for the hubby and I, will try using veggies next time, we usually use corn chips

  4. looks so good I love anything Mexican going to try

  5. I love anything Mexican and this dip is tempting me as I make my grocery list. Ahhhh! Thanks again for linking up at Weekend Potluck. I LOVE having you there. (pinned this)

  6. Pingback: My Valentine | Heart of a Country Home

  7. This looks divine! Like a burrito, except with chips. 😀

  8. I’d like to personally invite you to join the CookEatShare Author network. CookEatShare has had over 2.5 million unique visitors in 2009, and I think they will be interested in your content. Users will be guided to your actual blog, so this is a free way to increase page views and visitors to your site.

    Please visit http://cookeatshare.com/blogs/apply for additional information. Please contact me at mary@cookeatshare.com if you have any questions about the program.

  9. This dip looks beautiful served on a plate- I’ve never seen it that way before. Yum!

Leave a comment