Cream Cheese & Bacon Stuffed Peppers aka Poppers!

Previously I posted my recipe for Poppers.  In fact, it was one of my first foodie blog posts!  I’ve posted several recipes since then and hope you’ve enjoyed them.

Here’s another way to make poppers.  They’re delicious and naturally low carb!  Instead of wrapping the stuffed peppers in bacon…add the cooked bacon to the cream cheese stuffing!

Easy-peasy!

 Here’s what you’ll need…

oops!  Forgot to include the bacon.


Soften the cream cheese and add the rest of the ingredients.

Stuff the peppers and place on a baking sheet.  Sprinkle with the

parmesan cheese.

yum-yum!

I’m one of those cooks that rarely ever measures anything so it does make

it hard to pass on the recipe.  But, looking at my

previous Poppers recipe, I’d say I used about

the same amount of ingredients.

Poppers

Jalepeno peppers (cut open and remove all seeds)

8 oz cream cheese

1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

seasoning such as Soul Seasoning or Seasoning Salt, garlic, Old Bay, etc

2 green onions, sliced

6 -8 slices bacon, cooked, drained, crumbled

Parmesan cheese

Mix the cheeses.  Add the seasonings, onions and bacon.  Fill the peppers with the mixture and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.  Place on a foil lined pizza pan or baking sheet.

Bake in a 375º oven for about 20-30 minutes.  Keep a check on them after 20 minutes and bake until the peppers look done and the filling is all melty and gooey.   Cool and enjoy!  I served these with Ranch Dressing.

In case you’re wondering about my readers…here’s the results! Apparently readers from all over enjoy low carb and Southern cooking!  Thanks to all who participated.

Canada – 2

Florida – 2

West Virginia-2

Georgia-1

Hawaii-1

Indiana – 1

Kentucky – 1

Mississippi – 1

Pennsylvania – 1

Texas – 1

Washington – 1

DISCLAIMER: If you purchase from the links in this post you are helping support Heart of a Country Home at no extra charge to yourself.  Thanks and Happy Holidays!


28 responses to “Cream Cheese & Bacon Stuffed Peppers aka Poppers!

  1. Oh these look very good. I have never had poppers before. Aren’t jalepenos hot or is there one that is a bit milder? I am thinking about the picky husband. 🙂

    • I think the seeds make them hot, so be careful when de-seeding. Once the peppers are cooked, they lose the heat. I was pleasantly surprised when I made them the first time. They’re not hot, just have that pepper taste.

  2. These will be so good for a Super Bowl Party or just anytime. Great combination. Thank you for sharing and you have a great day!

  3. I am so happy that you brought these wonderful Poppers for us to enjoy here at Full Plate Thursday. You have a great week end and please come back!

  4. I can’t eat anything hot either, but these look wonderful. I think this would be good with banana peppers, too. Have a good weekend.

    • they’re not that hot when the seeds are removed. The banana peppers would most likely be good, too! If you try this recipe with banana peppers, buy just one jalapeño pepper and try it, too, just to see if they’re too hot. Everyone’s heat tolerance level is different, I know. 🙂

  5. Looks tasty. I have a garden full of banana peppers I’m going to try this with. Thanks from Morgan City LA.

    • Me, too! 🙂 I was just thinking about trying this today. Also, I grew jalapeño peppers this year just for this recipe. Man, I wish I could get my hubby to light the grill tonight. They would be extra tasty done on the grill.

  6. Pingback: It’s Almost Thanksgiving! Holiday Hits | Heart of a Country Home

  7. I made these and they turned out perfect!!! Thanks for an awesome recipe!

  8. Pingback: Week's Top Low Carb Recipes, Oct. 27 - Nov. 2 · Low Carb Zen

  9. Pingback: Sweet Pepper Stuffed With Cream Cheese | Extreme Survival Guide

  10. How can you say the two batches are similar? Its the exact same photo at a different angle.

    • I’m not sure I understand. If you look at the Poppers post from 2008, you can see that the peppers are wrapped in bacon. In the post from 2011, the bacon is chopped and included in the cream cheese filling. That makes them different. It’s just a little easier than trying to keep the bacon wrapped around the pepper, although I love them both ways. What makes the recipes similar is that the ingredients are pretty much the same. Hope this helps. 🙂

  11. Pingback: Week's Top Low Carb Recipes, Oct. 27 - Nov. 2 - Low Carb Zen

  12. Pingback: Salami Cream Cheese Rollups | Heart of a Country Home

  13. Yummy n thank u!

  14. So do you think that you could make these to the point of baking them and before instead of putting them in the oven you could freeze them? Or would you have to blanch the peppers first? Thanks.

    • I’ve never tried freezing them, but that sounds like a great idea. I think I would try prepping them and freezing without the blanching. Not sure why they would need blanching beforehand. Peppers have a high water content, so I can imagine that when they thaw out, they may be soggy. So maybe the best thing to do would be to put them in the oven while frozen. That would probably change the baking time by a few minutes. If you try it, let us know how they turn out. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

  15. This may be a dumb question, especially since they vary in size, but roughly how many peppers would this recipe stuff? Thanks!

    • It’s been a while since I made this recipe so I don’t remember how many peppers I had, but it also depends on how much filling you put inside the peppers. I’m going to guess and say it will probably fill 8-12 peppers, halved – so that’s 16-24 pepper halves to be stuffed. The more peppers you have, the less filling you might want to use just to make sure you have enough for all the peppers. Hope this helps. 🙂

      • Definitely helps, thank you so much! I’ll be making these for a food day at work, looking forward to trying them!

  16. Great idea! We do have the holidays ahead of us. 🙂 I usually take chili cheese dip or something in a crockpot to our work holiday potlucks, but I don’t see why these couldn’t be made in advance and kept in a crockpot on warm. 🙂 Thanks for the idea! 😀

  17. Looks delicious, but can you please include the nutritional info for this (and all) recipes you post? Would bee very helpful, especially for those of us just getting started on the low carb path.

  18. Pingback: What we're cooking this month: Stuffed peppers with cream cheese | OXFORD CULTUREMANIA

Leave a Reply

