Southern Lady’s Peach Cake

My friend over at Southern Lady Cooks enticed me with her Peach Cake recipe.  Since I had all the ingredients (there’s not many), I whipped it up Sunday afternoon.

Peach Cake2

My mom, who’s been rehabbing  from her hip surgery, got to enjoy a piece when I stopped by to check on her.  I guess I get my love of homemade desserts from her.  We collect cookbooks as a hobby and read them like novels!

Yummo!

Pop on over to The Southern Lady Cooks to check out this delicious recipe and if you get a chance, make it this weekend.   It’s easy.  🙂

The Smoked Turkey Salad recipe is coming up next, I promise!

43 responses to “Southern Lady’s Peach Cake

  1. Hi Jillian, Thanks for the link and for trying this wonderful cake. I am making it again today. I hope your mother is doing well and enjoyed the cake, too. Your photo looks so good. Your readers will love how easy it is to make!

  2. This cake sounds and looks soooo delicious! I can’t wait to try it. Thanks

  3. Holy smokes that looks awesome!! We have company coming tomorrow so guess what they’re gonna have:)

  4. This looks great! I’m going to have to try this very soon!

  5. This looks declicious! I will have to definitely give this a try soon.

    • actually that was a recipe from a friend. I was just posting the pic and idea to inspire myself. 🙂

  6. That sure does look good and I am impressed to hear that I won’t need many ingredients! Thanks for the link.

    Best wishes,
    Natasha.

  7. Oh yum! I might fly you here to be my cook! 🙂
    Thanks for linking up to Making It With Allie.
    I can’t wait to see what you have next week!
    AllieMakes.Blogspot.com

  8. PJ Cimorelli

    Hello there,
    I came accross your website. Looking for a Peach Cake. My husband wants a Peach Cake for Fathers Day, & I promised him that I would find a good Southern recipe. Can you help me? The cake looks out of this world, I’m drooling at the mouth, I hope I can make this for his SPECIAL day!
    Thank you & God Bless!
    P.J.

    • This cake is fabulous and very rich! What kind of help do you need? 🙂

      • PJ Cimorelli

        Hi Jillian,
        Thank you for your quick response, Well I came accross 2 of the Southern Peach cakes on your site. One was the Southern Lady’s Peach Cake, this was a large picture, than I clicked on that link & brought me to a different looking cake called Peach cake with coconut iceing, BUT the picture of the cake was real deep dark red in color, & that one was not the recipe I choose. So my question is, are there two Peach cake recipes on the this site? I really wanted the link of the first Southern Peach Cake, that is lighter in color, unless I made a mistake. How do I attain that recipe?
        Thank You,

      • oh, ok, I get it! 🙂 Actually the big picture is on my site and is MY version of Southern Lady’s Peach Cake, the darker one that you see when you click on her link. I made mine using her recipe, so you should be okay if you follow her recipe. 🙂 Let me know how it turns out. Hope your hubby enjoys it!

    • PJ Cimorelli

      Thank you Jillian,
      your a doll, when I bake the cake I will add a little post to it, for Fathers Day!

  9. Edith Arend

    OK where is the liquid to make this a batter and what about height alatuite and can you maybe use pineapple

    • I haven’t made this in a while, but if I remember correctly the mashed up peaches provide enough liquid to make a batter. The final cake is very moist and delicious! 🙂

      As for pineapple, I have seen a very similar recipe in a cookbook using pineapple and I think it might work. I’d probably use crushed pineapple and drain the same as the peaches. If you try it, please report back and let us know. 🙂 You’re free to send me the pic and recipe as well if you want. Thanks for stopping by!

  10. nancy tommey

    Are there no eggs in this recipe?

  11. This needs salt. Yuk!

    • Really? It was just flat out yucky?! lol I don’t recall this recipe needing any salt, but it’s been a few minutes since I made this cake. Maybe someone else will chime in with their thoughts. 🙂

  12. Charla Bufkin

    I have a peach tree. I also try to convert all recipes I find to gluten free and diabetic friendly as possible. However, there are Some recipes that it would be a sin to convert 🙂

  13. For the coconut, is that the same as the sweetened coconuts flakes you buy at the baking section?

  14. Can you tell me if the icing goes on warm or it should be cooled?

    • I would put the icing on when it was almost cooled. That’s the way I like it. I never let my cakes cool completely either. I probably should but I’m impatient and really kinda like the way it all melds together when both are still slightly warm. 🙂

  15. Just made this cake and it turned out awful. Will not repeat.

    • oh, wow! I hate to hear that! What about it was awful? I thought it was delicious, but then I tend to like overly moist, dense, sweet desserts. :0

  16. Is a regular can of condensed mild the small can?

  17. This cake is awesome. My husband loved it. Will make again. Thanks for sharing.

  18. The best peach cake I’ve ever made or ate.Glad I found this recipe.Thanks for posting it.

  19. Charlene Boley

    I want to use fresh peaches. Wonder if the fresh peaches need blanched? Sure hope it works out. I have not made this cake ever before. The fresh peaches are so beautiful this year.

    • whether the cake works with fresh peaches or not, I do not know. But I bet it would TASTE awesome! 🙂 If you find out, let us know. 🙂

      • Charlene Boley

        I made this cake today for the Bible Study group. It sure didn’t look like this picture! It was brown clear through. One lady said she couldn’t taste the peaches. I used 4 cups of beautiful fresh peaches. Rather disturbing to me that the recipe does not tell you exact ounces for the evaporated milk. I decided 3/4 of a 12 oz can would be 9 oz. Next time I’d do 8oz. Frosting is exactly like that of German Chocolate cake..at least mine turned out that way. If you like a very sweet desert, this is it. Since I have never had or made this cake before using canned peaches, I really cannot tell you how using fresh peaches made a difference. I myself will not waste my beautiful fresh peaches again on this recipe.

      • I’m so sorry it didn’t work for you with the fresh peaches, but glad you reported back so we’ll know not to try that! I wonder if the brown color was possibly from the sugar content in the fresh peaches. 4 cups of peaches is quite a bit to not have a peach flavor! 😦 I think it is very sweet,too and best served with a nice whipped cream. Well, thanks for the report.

  20. My “batter” was just way too dry. I know the comments said the peaches would make enough juice on their own, but it was not a batter at all so I added about a fourth of a cup of the peach juice back in and made a very thick batter. Also, while cooking, it began to get really brown about 10 minutes before the quoted cooking time so I took it out. It felt done to the touch. I was in a hurry with company coming for dinner so I poured the hot icing on the hot cake. Oh yea, I poked holes in the cake before pouring the icing because, well, that’s what my momma always told me to do when icing a cake with glaze. OMG, it was so good. My company raved about it and my son stopped by (who is not a cake eater) and asked if he could take some home to his girlfriend. My husband loved it (who also is not much on sweets) and I took some to my mom and she called later to tell me whatever I did, do not loose that recipe – she wants it for her birthday and every other holiday. Now, I will say, it is a VERY rich, sweet, ooey, gooey dessert. I hesitate to call it a cake because my version (hot icing on hot cake) made more of a wet cobbler. But, according to the rave reviews, I don’t think I’ll change it. However, I must admit, I’m tempted to let both cool next time to see if the cake will hold it’s shape better next time when I’m not in such a hurry. Thank you for sharing this awesome recipe!

Leave a Reply

