Fudgy Chocolate Oatmeal No Bake Cookies (sugar free)

I first had these yummy cookies when I was just a youngster.  They’ve always been my favorite cookie.

One night I came home late and wanted Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies.  My Aunt Mary used to make the best!  She always had the ingredients on hand.  We’d watch as she brought everything to a boil and boiled for just 1 minute and the cookie recipe worked every time.

I’ve never been able to boil for just one minute and get the cookies to harden up.

A friend shared that she uses the water test method…when the syrup becomes a “soft ball” and doesn’t fall apart when dropped into a cool cup of water, then it’s ready.  This takes anywhere from 3 – 5 minutes usually in my experience.

Using Splenda totally changes this recipe.  It’s not just the best since Splenda and chocolate are somewhat bitter with each other, but you can try changing it up and using your own sweetener blend.  They must have been pretty good, tho since my girls finished them up!

Fudgy Chocolate Oatmeal No Bake Cookies

1 cup granulated sweetener (try Truvia or Swerve)
2 tablespoons cocoa
1/2  stick butter (4 Tablespoons)
1/4 cup milk (try using Almond Milk or Coconut Milk for fewer carbs)
1 tsp. vanilla
1 1/4 cups quick-cooking oatmeal (gluten free oatmeal) *
1/4 cup Jif Natural peanut butter

Combine granular sweetener,  cocoa, butter and milk in a saucepan.  On medium heat, bring to a boil for around 2-4 minutes, or until syrup seems to thicken up.  (I can’t remember if I tried the “soft ball stage” test on this recipe.  I think I just cooked the mixture until it started coating the spoon.  It was right around 3-4 minutes of boiling time. )

Remove from heat. Stir in peanut butter (optional), vanilla and oatmeal.  Drop by spoonful onto a wax paper lined sheet pan.  Let cool for at least 30 minutes.

* Can use a mix of old fashioned oatmeal and coconut chips instead.

no bake cookeis sf

. . . . .

DISCLAIMER: If you purchase from the links in this post you are helping support Heart of a Country Home at no extra charge to yourself.  Thanks and Happy Holidays!

32 responses to “Fudgy Chocolate Oatmeal No Bake Cookies (sugar free)

  1. Hi Jillian! I just made your no bake cookies! They are amazing! I had bariatric surgery 6 months ago and I have been struggling to find some tasty treats that are low in carbs! I will definitely be making these again and again! Even my grandkids love them! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!

    • That is awesome! I haven’t made these myself in a while, but I do remember them being delicious. I’m glad you all like the recipe and thank you so much for the good review.

  2. OMG these are delicious!

  3. My son doesn’t like chocolate. So…. I made these sort of. I used a combination of truvia brown and stevia white. Also added a tablespoon of chopped walnuts. No cocoa but everything else the same. Turned out great. Thanks for the starter recipe. Will definitely be making them again.

  4. I have had a hard time finding a sugar free dessert or cookie that my husband can have and really like. You have won hands down with this!!!! Thank you for sharing this with Pinterest and with me!!!!🏆

  5. Regarding sweeteners, I’m not sure how this would work with baking, but for years (before Splenda came along) I would add literally a few grains of sugar when I used either the pink pack or blue pack of sweeteners in my coffee. I removed the bitter taste. I try not to use refined sugar. I have used Coconut Palm Sugar in some baking. I’m not sure how that would impact diabetics.

    • I’m not sure about Coconut Palm Sugar. I think it is lower on the glycemic index. Maybe someone with more knowledge regarding diabetics using CPS will let us know. Thanks for the comment! 🙂

  6. I would be interested to know if anyone tried making these with PB2 and not Peanut butter to reduce calories & fat.

    • Hm, that might work since the peanut butter is added after the cocoa mixture is cooked. Hopefully we can find that out! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and for your comment.

  7. Rhonda Coiner

    I tried this recipe last night with Truvia. I really thought they turned out great..and, I like the consistency better than the sugar ones..I will definitely try these again..wonder how many calories (approx) are in each one so I can log it on my daily intake..

  8. I’m not yet used to baking with stevia, so I put in half as much. Still the artificial sweetener taste was overpowering. Would cooking it longer help? And I think I’ll add in the peanut butter next time.

    • Stevia is a very strong sweetener. I think this recipe works best with sweetener that measures like sugar, so Swerve seems to work best for me. It seems like the bulk is needed to for this recipe to work. If you didn’t add the peanut butter, I think that affected the flavor and consistency as well. I like the peanut butter and chocolate flavors together myself.

  9. Love them. Used half regular cocoa and half dark cocoa. Yummy

  10. Colleen Mclaughlin

    what a waste of time and money making these THEY WERE TERRIBLE. I actually spit it out in the sink they were that bad.

    • ouch! I hate that for you. I’ve made them several times and have loved them every time. They always fudge up for me and I keep them in the fridge. What type of sweetener did you use? I’ve found out that Swerve or Truvia seem to work best.

  11. Pingback: Can Freeze No Bake Cookies | We Get Healthy

  12. Pingback: Healthy Oatmeal Cookie Recipes No Sugar – About Food & Health

  13. gacoalition4childprotectionreform1

    I have mine setting in the fridge, can’t wait to taste them. I used sweet n low and went by the chart on the side as to the equivalents to the Cup of sugar. It tasted awesome! Thanks for sharing
    Paige

  14. Glenn Robare

    I tried this recipe and used the Splenda Brown Sugar and it seemed to work better than the regular Splenda and added a better flavor. I melted the butter first and added the milk, cocoa and then put the Splenda in last until it came to a boil and then boiled it for one minute more. The cookies were a lot better by this method, also I used 3 cups of oatmeal and fat free milk…

  15. This is a good recipe but the use of Splenda is really not good for diabetics, so use with caution, as it can raise your levels.

  16. double all ingredients except the oats. This works for me.

  17. I made as directed and they came out as pictured. I used unsweetened almond milk and made 25 cookies, 68.5 kcal and 5.96 net carb. Not same as my sugar ones but still good. May experiment with other sweeteners.

    • That is great to know. I’m thinking another sweetener or blend of sweeteners would work better. I just tried the Ideal sweetener at Kroger and now it’s gone. I was so disappointed because it is so good! It’s derived from the Stevia plant and tasted awesome!

  18. Pingback: Happy New Year and 2011 Top Posts | Heart of a Country Home

Leave a comment