Vegetable Beef Soup with Southern Cornbread

soup

This soup began as a Pot Roast with baby carrots and baby whole potatoes

baked in the oven for 6 hours at 275º.  That wasn’t long enough or the temp wasn’t high enough.  It was supposed to cooked in the crockpot while I was at work until I discovered my crockpot was missing in action and left at the church after the last dinner.

My cupboard was nearly bare of soup ingredients except for the 2 home-canned jars of mixed veggies sent back home with us from a trip to Aunt D’s house in Kentucky. I also had a small can of tomato sauce, but no diced or whole tomatoes which I normally use in soup.

The soup turned out to be the best I’ve made in a while… it was delicious!  Very hearty and full of flavor.   Only from memory, since I didn’t write anything down; it goes something like this…

Hearty Vegetable Beef Soup

Small portion of leftover pot roast
Whole new potatoes, from leftover roast
Onions, from leftover roast
2 cans mixed veggies
1 small tomato sauce
2 bouillon cubes
2-3 Tbs Flour or cornstarch for thickening
1-2 cups of water

Put all in a large pot or dutch oven and cook on medium heat for 30 minutes and until broth is thickened.  Serve with cornbread, breadsticks, or saltines.

Pacify your kids when they come asking for more, by informing them that soup’s all gone but homemade Pecan Pie with a dollop of fresh whipped cream is coming up!

12 responses to “Vegetable Beef Soup with Southern Cornbread

  1. Where is the recipe for the southern cornbread?

  2. Pingback: Canned Tomatoes | Heart of a Country Home

  3. Hi!

    I have been looking through your archives and so many of your recipes look very delicious!

    I noticed that you used home canned vegetables, but since I don’t can, I was wondering what vegetables you included so I can use up some leftover pot roast I made myself.

    I am subscribing to your blog and look forward to reading all your new posts 🙂

    • Hi and thanks for stopping by! Aunt Dorothy cans homemade veggie soup every year and it is delicious and so handy! Usually she puts in corn, green beans, onions, carrots and any other veggie she has available. As far as soup goes, around here, we just add our favorite veggies. Tonight and since I’m trying to stay away from starches, I made a chicken soup and my veggies were green beans (something I know my kids will eat), stewed tomatoes, and cauliflower. My plans were to top off my bowl with some shredded cheddar cheese, but I changed my mind and left it naked. lol

      Just go with your favorites and I’m sure it will turn out great! Thanks again for stopping by and commenting.

      • Jillian, thank you for replying so quickly! I think this is on the menu tomorrow 🙂

  4. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday « Heart of a Country Home

  5. Pingback: Easy Ranch and Bacon Pasta Salad « Heart of a Country Home

  6. It’s amazing what you can make with leftovers. I just happen to have a little piece of pot roast left along with some potatoes, carrots and onions…hmmm… I think you just gave me a great idea!
    Oh, by the way, I like your site and can’t wait to see more of your cuisine.
    Thanks and I’ll talk to you soon:-)
    -David

    • Please get that soup going with your leftover pot roast! Mine was the best I’ve made in a long time. I really enjoyed it. Thanks for stopping by. Come again soon! 🙂

  7. Oh I love Beef Soup… That looks great. Thanks for visiting my blog. Hope you had a wonderful weekend.

Leave a Reply

