Buttermilk Biscuits

Oh, how I love the smell of bread baking in the oven!

It speaks to my soul and tells me good things are to come.

.

Years ago (seems like a lot of my posts start with this), I clipped a Basic Buttermilk Biscuit recipe from my Mom-in-love’s Southern Living magazine.

.

This is my go-to, tried and true, never-fail biscuit recipe that I use when I’m not low carbing or I just wanna make biscuits for the family on Saturday morning.

.

 

I use my medium size biscuit cutter so my biscuits are smaller than usual.  I tend to like’m small, tall, and fluffy…almost bite-size, well at least a few bites worth.   I do love things in miniature.

 …

 

 .

 Begin by cutting the butter into the flour with a pastry cutter until the mixture resembles coarse meal.

.

.

Add buttermilk and stir just until all dry ingredients are incorporated.

;

.

Turn dough onto lightly floured surface and gently knead or fold over itself 4-5 times.    Folding creates multiple layers of dough and fat, giving rise to a tender, fluffy biscuit.  Pat or roll to ¾” thick; cut with a round biscuit cutter.

.

.

Place into a greased pan with side touching.  This helps with the rise.  I used my round Wilton silicone cake pan and it worked great!  There was even a slight crust on the bottom of some of the biscuits.

.

.

Remove from the oven and brush with melted butter. 

.

.

Serve with honey, jam, sorghum, meat, or how about some Chocolate Gravy?   The freedom of  choice is yours!

.

;

 

.

Basic Buttermilk Biscuits

1/3 cup butter, cut up

2 cups self rising flour (White Lily is good)

3/4 cup buttermilk

2 tablespoons melted butter

 

Preheat oven to 425ºF.  Cut butter in flour w/ pastry cutter.  Add buttermilk and stir just until all dry ingredients are incorporated.   Turn dough onto lightly floured surface and gently knead or fold over itself 4-5 times.    Folding creates multiple layers of dough and fat, giving rise to a tender, fluffy biscuit.

Pat or roll to ¾” thick; cut with a round biscuit cutter.  Pat or roll to ¾” thick; cut with a round biscuit cutter.   Bake for 12-14 minutes. Brush with melted butter fresh from the oven.  Serve warm.

Yield:  12-14 (1½”) biscuits or 7 (2½”) biscuits

.

Recipe courtesy of Southern Living Magazine

24 responses to “Buttermilk Biscuits

  1. Pingback: September is National Biscuit Month | Heart of a Country Home

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Gravy, Southern Style | Heart of a Country Home

  3. Thanks so much for this recipe. Biscuits have always been my Achilles heel – they come out like flat rocks. I’ve finally mastered a perfect flaky biscuit! Delicious.

  4. Pingback: Almond Flour Biscuits ~ Low Carb • Grain Free | Heart of a Country Home

  5. Really enjoy how step by step the recipes are and with pics!! I’m from south Louisiana so we love our biscuits here. 😉 these are perfect on the go size to! Thanks again and keep up the good work!

  6. Hi! Thanks for the recipe. I made it the other night and biscuits were perfect in consistency–flaky and tender. The only problem was that they badly needed salt! They had the flavor of paste, without it. I’d recommend 3/4 tsp salt to anyone making this recipe in the future.

  7. Dorothy Miramontes

    These look great! i will try these very soon and buy white lily flour,is it alright to double the recipe?:)

    • I’ve never doubled the recipe, but don’t know why that wouldn’t work. Hope they turn out good for you! Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Sour Cream Biscuits | Heart of a Country Home

  9. WOW, you make these biscuits look so easy. I think I will give them a try…usually my homemade biscuits come out like rocks! What am I doing wrong?

    • hmm, I’m not sure of your process, but I think the secret is to cut the cold butter into the flour, so it can melt when baking. Well maybe that’s not the secret, but it is a great tip! lol Also, cook’m fast and on high heat. My BIL claims to make great biscuits, but bakes them on about 350 and for a long time. They’re like little hockey pucks! lol My SIL is scared to make biscuits and still buys the frozen ones. 😦 Good luck and let me know if you try them.

  10. Now that is an unusual gravy.

    My southern mama made two gravies that
    I have never seen before. One is her wonderful
    egg gravy. Have you heard of that one?
    The other is tomato gravy..

    If you want the egg gravy recipe I will gladly
    give it out.

  11. I made these biscuits today. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!! I have looked for a decent biscuit recipe for years and this, I believe, is it for me.
    i took some pics and will post them tomorrow with a link back to you.
    Thanks again:)

    • Lisa, this Biscuit Recipe is so simple and delicious, it’s hard not to like. I’ll be watching out for your pictures. 🙂

  12. dustythornfarm

    btw, my site is at dustythornfarm.blogspot.com if you want to check it out:)

  13. dustythornfarm

    There’s not many people who have ever heard of chocolate gravy. It’s a once a year treat with my whole family when we get together for Christmas.
    thanks for the biscuit recipe, I have yet to find one that I really like (hoping this is it:)

    • Dusty, Chocolate Gravy is awesome and I’ll be sure to stop by your site real soon. Thanks for the comments. 🙂

  14. We like bologna even though it’s not the healthiest meat choice out there! 😀

    In the summer, there’s nothing like a fried bolonga sandwich with mayo and fresh tomato! Yum, yum

    My grandmother took it a step further and toasted/grilled the whole sandwich and it was TDF!

  15. I just noticed your comment about fried bologna. We used to eat that all the time when I was a kid. Thanks for the great memory. I don’t think my kids would eat fried bologna :(!

  16. Oh . . . my . . . goodness! When I’m not low-carbing I’LL be making these. They look absolutely delicious. Great with a slice of country ham. Great with a spoon full of my homemade apple butter!

Leave a comment