Sour Cream Biscuits

September

is

National Biscuit Month

and I do love me a fluffy biscuit still warm from the oven!  Total comfort food on a crisp fall morning.

I’m on a quest to find the perfect biscuit.  One that stays fluffy and tender even after they cool off.  The biscuits that I’ve made recently are fantastic out of the oven, but after they cool down and sit a while, they get kind of grainy.  I’m thinking it might have something to do with the fat or flour used.

Recently I tried a new recipe using sour cream and was impressed with the tenderness of dough.  Topped with some apple butter,  that warm biscuit was just right along with my scrambled eggs.

Sour Cream Biscuits
.
2 cups self-rising flour
3/4 cup sour cream
1 1/2 tablespoons water
.
In a large mixing bowl, add flour and sour cream.   Mix to a soft dough.  Add additional water if necessary.
.
With well floured hands, shape dough into round biscuit shapes.  Place in greased baking pan or cast iron skillet with sides touching.  Brush biscuit tops with oil.  Bake at 450º  for 10-12 minutes.  Brush with butter before serving.
.
*For this batch of biscuits, I preheated a Lodge 10″ cast iron skillet,  along with about 3 tablespoons of oil.  I wanted to see if the bottoms of my biscuits would be crispy…and they were!  🙂
.
COOK’S NOTE:  If you don’t have self-rising flour, use 2 cups all-purpose flour, plus 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, and 3 teaspoons baking powder.
Also check out my Southern Buttermilk Biscuit recipe.
And here’s a great low carb biscuit recipe for all my low carb fans.
 
 
I’m linking to…


4 responses to “Sour Cream Biscuits

  1. Pingback: September is National Biscuit Month | Heart of a Country Home

  2. I made these earlier in the week and they were so good, I ‘m making them again for Sunday breakfast.

  3. These look wonderful. I am going to try them the next time I make biscuits! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

