Weight Watcher Skillet Cornbread

One of the Weight Watcher recipes I’ve tried recently…

.

The cornbread was very moist and had great flavor.  I am a big fan of using buttermilk in baked breads and cakes and the buttermilk flavor came through strong for me.  I could’ve almost eaten this with a fork.  It was very good and I’ll definitely be making it as long as I do Weight Watchers.

.

 

Weight Watcher Skillet Cornbread

1 cup uncooked cornmeal, yellow

1 cup all-purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp table salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

14 3/4 oz cream-style corn, canned

1/2 cup buttermilk

2 large egg whites

2 tsp corn oil

.

Preheat oven to 400ºF. Coat an 8-inch square cake pan or 8″ skillet as I’ve done here, with cooking spray. (I used my pastry brush and brushed the skillet with oil.)

.

Combine cornmeal, flour, baking powder, salt and baking soda in a large bowl. Mix well with a fork, then make a well in the center; set aside.

.

Combine creamed corn, buttermilk, egg whites and oil in a medium bowl; mix until blended. Fold mixture into dry ingredients; mix until blended. Pour batter into prepared pan and smooth the top.

.

Bake until a wooden pick inserted near the center comes out clean, about 20 minutes. Allow to cool in pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes. Remove from pan; cool completely before cutting into 8 squares.

.

Weight Watcher Points Value 3 per serving.

~~~

Stay tuned for more great Weight Watcher recipes.

5 responses to “Weight Watcher Skillet Cornbread

  1. I had iron skillet corn bread with cornmeal and flour as a kid, this is better:

    2 Whole eggs separated, plain yogurt, corn meal + masa harina (no white flour), sesame seeds, olive oil, milk as needed, salt, baking soda and some honey. Whip liquids, add dry ingredients. Whip egg whites and fold into batter at end.

    Bake in a square glass dish coated with butter and more sesame seeds. Bake at 400 (preheated) until toothpick comes out clean. (Good rise, great flavor).

  2. How many servings does this make or am I missing it somewhere in your post. Thanks,

    • The recipe calls for cutting it into 8 squares. Since I used the small skillet I cut it into pie shaped wedges. If you can make 8 servings of any shape, it should be 3 WW points. 🙂

Leave a comment