Bacon-Wrapped Lil’ Smokies

Yum, yum!  When I saw these on 2 different sites, I just had to make me some!  Anything wrapped in bacon…can it get any better?!

When these came out of the oven, I had to share!  So I quickly snapped a shot with my cell phone and uploaded it even quicker!

Make these and soon.

I made them like my friend, Grace, but since I didn’t have the Sugar Twin Brown Sugar (she’s right! it is very hard to find!), I used Splenda and added some spices…like garlic powder, bbq seasoning, and some Cajun seasoning I had on hand.

These would be great for a Super Bowl Party! or have them for breakfast with a low carb biscuit and cuppa Joe, like me.

Happy Sunday to you all!

. . .



4 responses to “Bacon-Wrapped Lil’ Smokies

  1. WOW, these look great. I can almost smell them, too. If it has bacon, I like it. I live on bacon and tomato sandwiches in the summer months. Have a good week.

  2. I heard that the “sugar” free brown sugars are just regular brown sugar with the “sugar free” product of choice added. I don’t have any to check the ingredients, but the next time I needed brown sugar I was going to try and whip up my own with splenda and see what happened.

    • I think that might be true about the Splenda Brown Sugar Blend. It’s supposed to bake up nicely and cut the actual sugar content in half, I think. (?) I’ve never used it, so I’m not sure. Sugar Twin has been around for a long time. In fact, I just used up the last of the box I bought several years ago at Kroger when I could find it. I have considered trying your idea with making my own using Splenda. Let me know if this works for you. In the meantime, here’s the ingredient list for Sugar Twin Brown Sugar…SugarTwin® Granulated Brown

      Maltodextrin, sodium Saccharin, calcium chloride, caramel color, artificial flavor.

      Contains 3.53%. Saccharin. Each level teaspoon serving contains 14.1 mg of Saccharin.

      Contains nutritive and non-nutritive sweeteners.

  3. Yours look wonderful. I may have to try your version with the extra spices added in. It sounds wonderful. 🙂 Thanks for sharing my link too. 🙂

Leave a comment