Slow Cooked Pot Roast with Root Veggies

I made this a few months ago, but still

remember how delicious it was!

My daughter loves roast,

so I try to have it ever so often when I find

it for a good price.

Slow Cooked Pot Roast with Root Veggies

3-4 pound English roast or pot roast

1 packet dry onion soup mix

1cup water

3 carrots, chopped

1/2 onion, chopped

4 potatoes, peeled and cubed

2 beef bouillon cubes

½ cup flour

salt and pepper to taste

oil for browning

Take the roast and season with salt and pepper to taste.  Lightly dredge in the flour.  Brown on all sides in a large skillet over high heat.  (Mom always said that searing the meat first seals in the juices and flavor.)  Place in the slow cooker and add the soup mix, water, carrots, onion, potatoes and beef bouillon.   Cover and cook on low setting for 8 to 10 hours.

If there happen to be any leftovers, I like to add tomatoes and more broth and mixed veggies to make soup.  That’s another thing my Mom did.   Love and miss that woman like crazy!

TIP: If your trying to stay away from potatoes, substitute cubed turnips for the potatoes.  I usually add them in the last few hours of cooking.




10 responses to “Slow Cooked Pot Roast with Root Veggies

  1. My whole family loves roast. When my children were young and home we had it for Christmas because that is all they wanted to eat. Such a comfort food, too. Have a good weekend.

  2. I’d like to fix it again soon, but I’ve not seen it on sale and I really hate to pay $15 for a piece of meat, especially if it’s only enough for one meal. Hope your weekend it great, too! Maybe it’ll warm up soon. 🙂

  3. Have you swapped out the AP flour for flax? I love the idea of using all root veggies, but to keep it more low carb, no potatoes. You always have great recipes!

    • I haven’t. It’s been a while since I made a pot roast – groceries have gone up tremendously! That might work, tho. I think I would try coconut flour or maybe the arrowroot powder that everyone is talking about now. Or maybe just leave off all the flour. If you saw my note at the bottom of the post, I’ve used turnips with good results instead of potatoes. 🙂

      • I did see your note on turnips, and I do plan on avoiding the potatoes. I will get the coconut flour and give it a try. Thanks bunches! 🙂

      • There’s other popular root veggies… My mind is blank right now, but I think celery root & daikon radish are two that come to mind. I’ve never used either. Have you?

      • I haven’t. I understand that celery root is not really from the celery plant, but it tastes just like it. I’ve seen it mashed and served as mashed potatoes as well as mashed INTO the potatoes. Daikon radish I think would be rather spicy. I will let you know when I try them, though. 🙂

      • Maybe I was thinking about parsnips? I’ve seen recipes for fried parsnip chips and fries! yum!:)

      • Probably so. The two look very similar. 🙂 Parsnip chips? You posting the recipe? 🙂

      • I’ve never made them, just read about them. Any kind of chip sounds good to me! 😉

Leave a Reply

