Chocolate Gravy, Southern Style

Gravy, gravy, gravy!

~~~

Here in the South, Chocolate Gravy is served at breakfast over “cat-head” biscuits, as my dear Dad calls them.   My own daughters used to gag at the idea of gravy being sweet, until they grew up a little and learned just how delicious chocolage gravy poured over a warm biscuit and topped with a pat of butter can be.

It’s not something I make on a regular basis, but for a special breakfast treat.

Speaking of Dad, his specialty was always Tomato Gravy, a savory gravy made with bacon drippings and flour, with chopped fresh tomato pieces added.  Yum, yum!  I must make some soon.

My friend Jada shares her family’s secret recipe for Chocolate Gravy.

Chocolate Gravy

2 cups sugar

3 TBS cocoa

3 heaping TBS flour

add 3-4cups HOT water

Mix sugar, flour, and cocoa with whisk first, then add your water.  Mix well.  Cook on med heat until it boils.  Remove from heat and place in a pretty gravy bowl.  Allow to cool slightly before serving over warm biscuits.

Jada’s notes:  Add more water if it gets too thick.  Some like it thick, some don’t.  I let mine sit and cool about 5 min before serving so its not like lava–lol–ENJOY! I’ve just let y’all in on a BIG family recipe  🙂

12 responses to “Chocolate Gravy, Southern Style

  1. Wow…this brought back so many great memories from my grandmother’s (Sunday morning treat) and then my mother would make for me when I would visit as an adult. Never ever seen this recipe anywhere. I will be making this very soon 🙂

    Thanks,
    Charlotte Sweet

    • So glad that a recipe here on this site could bring back such wonderful memories. 🙂 Some of my favorite memories of my grandmothers and great-aunts involve delicious food!

  2. Debborah Russell

    Thanks for the memories, I can remember having chocolate gravy over biscuits with my cousins before going to school. Good times. I’ll have to make some for my husband. He looked at me like I was crazy when I told him about this recipe.

  3. thank you for posting this…my grandmother used to make it all the time….and then i started telling people about it and they all thought i was crazy…now i have proof i’m at least not crazy on this…i loooove chocolate gravy… 🙂

  4. I am an Atlanta girl–most of my family was born and raised in Decatur and Conyers, Ga. So, definitely being from the South, I was surprised to have never heard of “chocolate gravy” until my husband–from Sand Mountain, Alabama–introduced me about 15 years ago. I still think it is weird, but I would never, never turn it down! I’m officially a convert. Thanks for the recipe–I might just surprise the husband sometime! He’d be shocked!

  5. Pingback: Buttermilk Biscuits « Heart of a Country Home

  6. I have never heard of Chocolate Gravy. But since I’ve never met a gravy I didn’t like, I bet it’s DELICIOUS. You just put these on regular biscuits??? I’ll be trying this! And thanks for visiting my blog. I wish I had time to do nothing but check out other folks’ blogs. They are so interesting and you learn so many new things!!!!!!!!!!! Happy New Year!

    • That’s right, Robbin. You can put these on regular biscuits. Any kind will do, IMHO. 😀 Glad you stopped by today. I enjoyed your blog as well and bookmarked it for future reference. I’d love to spend all day blog-hopping, too. 🙂

  7. I don’t think you can be from the South and not know about Chocolate Gravy. I have not made it in years! I have a friend that loves it more than anything you can eat. I will have to make it for my two year old grandson. He loves anything chocolate. I hope you have a wonderful New Year.

Leave a comment