Pumpkin Pie Spice Baked Oatmeal (E)

October 29, 2014 is National Oatmeal Day!

I really didn’t know that when I decided to make this baked oatmeal.  So glad I did.  It’s not very sweet (I’m sure you could adjust the sweetness), but it was very filling.

This fits in as an E (energizing) meal in the Trim Healthy Mama plan.

baked oatmeal

Pumpkin Pie Spice Baked Oatmeal

1/4 cup egg whites
½ cup unsweetened applesauce
½ cup pure pumpkin
1 cup unsweetened almond milk
5 packs stevia (or your favorite sweetener to your taste)
2 tsp pumpkin pie spice blend
½ tsp salt
1/3 cup oat flour (made from ground oats)
2 cups old fashioned oats

.

Preheat oven to 350º.

With a wire whisk, mix the egg whites, applesauce, pumpkin, almond milk and stevia until blended.

Add the spice blend, salt, oat flour, and oatmeal.  Stir until well mixed.
Pour into a 9×9 dish that has been lightly coated with coconut oil.

Bake for 30 minutes or until done.

Optional:  I sprinkled some stevia and cinnamon on top of my serving, but I really think it would be good with just a little sugar free maple syrup and maybe some nonfat greek yogurt.

I had this along with 2 thin slices of very lean pan seared deli ham.

Makes 9 servings.

COOK’S NOTE:  I suppose this same recipe might be made with gluten free oats and possibly a gluten free flour blend, but might have to adjust the quantities.

For 9 servings:

Calories 109
Fat 2 g
Carbohydrate 20 g  (Dietary Fiber 3 g)
Protein 4 g

One response to “Pumpkin Pie Spice Baked Oatmeal (E)

  1. Pingback: 66 Trim Healthy Mama Pumpkin Recipes - Artful Homemaking

Leave a comment