Mom’s Pimento Cheese

Pimento?  Pimiento?

Not sure exactly, so we’ll go with Pimento for this post.

One thing I’m sure of, as a kid I did NOT like Pimento Cheese!

I really didn’t enjoy Pimento Cheese until I was expecting my first daughter. That’s when I began to crave it.   I couldn’t get enough of it!

And I have to have it with plain Lays potato chips, just like Mom!

This past Sunday it was cool and rainy.  Homemade Chili and Homemade Pimento Cheese sounded like it would hit the spot, so that’s what I made.  I made it using Mom’s simple recipe.  I even used the potato masher just like she did.  It turned out great!  If I could have shared it with her, I would.

Mom’s Homemade Pimento Cheese

2 lbs Velveeta

1 large jar of diced pimentos

1/2 cup Kraft mayonaisse

Salt & Pepper

1 tsp sugar (optional – Mom chose not to)

Cut Velveeta into  chunks.  Place into a large bowl.  Add pimentos, mayo, salt & pepper.  Using a potato masher,  smash the cheese and pimento mixture until well mixed and spreadable.  Spread onto sandwich bread.  Serve with plain potato chips and a pickle spear, or serve with a bowl of homemade chili on a cool evening.  Enjoy!

… … … … … o O o… … … … …

I’m Linking to



7 responses to “Mom’s Pimento Cheese

  1. My mom loves these sandwiches! I’ve never actually tried it, but I like the sound of your recipe!

    Thanks for linking up for Friday Favorites! I’m featuring your post! Hope you’ll link up with us again this week!

  2. I remember Aunt Mary,A very very sweet lady.And so was your mother. Two wanderful people.

  3. Oh, yum! Now you made me hungry….

    • hee hee – I stay hungry looking at all the yummy food blogs out there! So much to make and eat…and so little time. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I made chili today. The first time this season. I am going to make this recipe tomorrow to go with it! Have a good weekend.

Leave a comment