Swiss Chicken Casserole

When I saw this chicken recipe over at The Southern Lady Cooks,  I knew I had to try it.

My daughter loves Stove Top Stuffing and I knew she’d love this casserole.

I’m trying to watch my calories so I decided to use reduced fat items where I could.  My recipe is just a little different than the one at TSLC, but it’s hopefully just as tasty.

Swiss Chicken Casserole

6 skinless, boneless chicken breasts (I used 10 chicken tenderloins)
6 slices 2% Swiss cheese, sliced
1 (10.75 oz) can condensed reduced fat cream of chicken soup
1/4 cup skim milk
water
2 cups dry bread stuffing mix (I used Kroger brand)

Preheat oven to 350º.

Arrange chicken in a lightly sprayed 9 x 13 baking dish.
Top with Swiss cheese slices.

Combine soup, skim milk, and about 1/4 cup water and stir well.
Spoon mixture over chicken and sprinkle with stuffing mix.
I then sprayed with some butter flavored spray, (Sure miss my buttah!)
but if you’re not counting calories, drizzle about 1/4 cup of melted butter
over the stuffing.

Cover and bake for 50 minutes. Serve with your favorite green side dish.
Serves 6 fairly large portions.

~I attempted to do a little figuring on the calories and came up to about 315
per serving.

Partying today over at

6 responses to “Swiss Chicken Casserole

  1. Oh that sounds mouth-watering! Thanks so much for linking up at Weekend Potluck…please come again soon.

  2. Oh yes! I have made this several times with just the chicken, cheese, soup, and stuffing. I usually melt one stick of butter and stir it with the stuffing before spreading it over the chicken. It really gives the chicken a nice crunchy topping.

    If you like baked potatoes, try chopping them up, coating them with butter or spray, and then roll them in a box of stuffing after you’ve run the stuffing through a food processor until it is crumbs. Bake at 350 until the potatoes are tender. The crust on the potatoes is amazing!

  3. This looks just wonderful. So happy you could adapt it to suit your diet. Thanks for trying my recipe and glad your family enjoyed it.

Leave a comment