Low Carb Spicy Deep Fried Broccoli

As I was surfing some food blogs, I ran across a pic of deep fried veggies.  That’s where it all began.

My desire for something crispy, “breaded”, and fried!

I couldn’t get it off my mind.

Remembering how I fixed some deep fried cauliflower, I began to mentally check out the contents of my freezer.

I ran home at lunch, grabbed that bag of frozen broccoli that had been staring at me every time I opened the freezer door, and heated up the deep fryer.

I quickly threw the frozen miniature “trees” in a bowl of water and grabbed an egg and the coconut milk out of the fridge.

Reaching into the cabinet, I got out my brand new box of Carbquik  and coconut flour.  (I no longer use Carbquik, but a combination of almond flour and gluten free flour).

I really needed to get this all done within 55 minutes so the rush was on.

To make a long story short, I did.  The results were quite tasty and satisfied that desire for something deep fried.

I think I like them more than the cauliflower!  The next day I discovered they’re just as good COLD!  Hope you give this recipe a try.

Spicy Deep Fried Broccoli

 

One 16oz bag frozen broccoli
1 egg
3 T coconut milk, cream, half and half, or water
1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
1/2 cup Carbquik, or almond flour/gluten free flour mix
seasoning spices (Cajun spice, garlic, salt, pepper, cayenne pepper, etc)
hot oil for deep frying
.
Rinse and thaw the frozen broccoli.  Drain off the water.  With a fork or whisk, mix the milk or even water with the egg.  Set aside.  Add your preferred spices to both cheeses, stir and set aside.
.
Put about a cup of broccoli florets into the egg mixture, stir around until the florets are coated with egg.  Next put the florets into the cheese/Carbquik mixture (I put the cheese into a quart size freezer bag) and shake around until the broccoli florets are well coated with the cheese-flour mixture.
.
Have your deep fryer ready.  Carefully drop into the hot oil.  Deep fry 6-8 minutes or until golden brown.  Continue until all the broccoli is cooked. Drain on paper towels and serve with your preferred dipping sauce.  I chose Ranch Dip.
COOK’S NOTE:  My hubby has a deep fryer like this and he says it will really cook!  So much better than that little fry baby he had.  😉
DISCLAIMER: If you purchase from the links in this post you are helping support Heart of a Country Home at no extra charge to yourself.  Thanks for your kindness. You’re the bestest!  

21 responses to “Low Carb Spicy Deep Fried Broccoli

  1. Pingback: Deep Fried Cauliflower Florets (Low Carb) | Heart of a Country Home

  2. Okay. i will be the primary one to inform you to eat your broccoli steamed, and tossed with a little of minced garlic, perhaps some red pepper flakes, very little ocean salt and a pat of pure butter. it is a power house vegetable that’s loaded with great things.

  3. try dipping in your egg then rolling in your breading/flour mixture (whatever you use) then freeze for an hour or more then deep fry while in frozen state and you shouldnt lose your breading mixture.

  4. Barbara Richatdson

    Jillian this might help – I have the same issue using frozen veggies
    so I buy fresh cauliflower and broccoli, steam till almost done then dip in egg batter ( scrambled egg mixture) and fry in hot oil. hope this helps

  5. Oooh yum!! What do you use to deep fry in?

  6. I’ve never had fried broccoli. It looks really good! Thanks for linking up for Friday Favorites last week!

    Hope you’ll stop by again this week. I’m celebrating my blogiversary with a giveaway for a Presto Cool Touch Griddle!

  7. Wow! What a fun idea. Would this count as healthy eating for your daily serving of veggies? I think so! What a great recipe! Thanks for sharing and giving us a tutorial!

  8. These deep-fried broccoli look so good!!! I’ve been talking about tempura for a while, but this sounds so much better right now! I might have to make some tonight… thanks for sharing! 🙂

  9. Wow! I have never heard of this Carbquick. It will be my new best friend if it is Soy and Rice free. We have food allergies… Thank you for the new obsession of low carb-ness 🙂
    Thanks for linking up to Making It With Allie!
    I hope to see you next week!
    AllieMakes.Blogspot.com

    • I edited my post to include a link to the Carbquik description. Hope this helps! I will try and make it to the linky party next week. Thanks for the warm welcome!

  10. You had me when you said crispy, breaded and fried! This looks wonderful. Have a good weekend.

  11. OMG! you had me at Fried…. I have to give this a try.

    • I know it! I have been low carbing for about 4 weeks and it had been so long since I’d had something deep-fried and crispy. This hit the spot and it was even better cold! 🙂

  12. I think I could get Hubby to eat veggies this way! LOL!

  13. I would like to know how you keep the carbquik from falling off in the oil. Mine does all the time! Makes me so mad. I have tried putting it in carbquik first, then the eggwash mixture and back in the carbquik and I have tried the egg wash then carbquik and almost all of it comes off in the oil and I have hardly any on my veggie and tons in the fryer. Thanks.

    • you know, I think some of it possibly did, but there was enough left on to make a great crispy coating. Do you use an egg wash?

Leave a comment