Canned Tomatoes

Last night I canned some of my fresh garden tomatoes.  If things go as planned, when I open them they will taste as fresh as the day they were put up.

canned tomatoes

 

To each quart jar of quartered tomatoes, I added 2 tablespoons of lemon juice and 1 teaspoon of non-iodized salt.

I processed the jars in a water bath for 45 minutes then set them out on a cloth napkin covered tray to cool.  I tested each jar to make sure they sealed and they did.  🙂

Now on a cold winter day I’ll have some lovely fresh tasting tomatoes to add to my vegetable beef soup.

When I take a taste, I’ll remember a hot, muggy evening in August and be thankful that I took the time to preserve some of my fresh garden bounty.

5 responses to “Canned Tomatoes

  1. I’ll soon be doing the same thing!

  2. So pretty! I love the look of a freshly canned goods!

  3. I’m certain they will taste just like the day you canned them.

    • the last time I canned tomatoes (which was several years ago) I waited almost a year before I opened the first jar and those were the BEST tomatoes! They tasted so fresh. I think the lemon juice and salt keeps the freshness around.

Leave a Reply

