Yummy Homemade Chunky Chicken Salad

As I was home for lunch, I literally threw together some very delicious homemade chicken salad and served it on toasted bread.

I used about 1 1/2 cups of leftover rotisserie chicken, some diced pickles, chopped green onions (2), and maybe a 1/2 cup of mayo.  I salted and peppered to my taste.  And it was tasty.

To add a little zip to the flavor, I added about a tsp of dill pickle juice and one pack of a Stevia based sweetener.  I think this really brightened up the flavor.

It’s a great way to use up leftover rotisserie chicken and it was quick and easy, too!

Sharing with

6 responses to “Yummy Homemade Chunky Chicken Salad

  1. looks like a yummy lunch!

  2. MMM! I love chicken salad. I just made a similar recipe that added chopped mixed nuts! =) A GREAT summer dish! Thanks for sharing at Weekend Potluck.

    • Nuts!!! I love crunchy! Even my kids know this. Great idea to add the nuts. My friend Shannon over at The Lone Writer gave me the idea to spice it up, so I have lots of versions to try. Thanks for the great idea!

  3. Pingback: Fun With Chicken Salad | The Lone Writer: Shannon Yarbrough

  4. I have made chicken salad with grilled chicken breast about 5 times in the last 2 weeks. 1 chicken breast lasted about two meals because all I have put into the salad. I have been given several cucumbers by a co-worker. I don’t particularly like them, but I have been putting them in my chicken salad and it’s a good way of getting me to eat them! I have also added dried basil, dried parsley, and misc seasonings from the spice cabinet. Also, Parmesan! I don’t like runny that can happen from the pickles, so the Parmesan has balanced the consistency and added a lot of richness. One time I even put chopped bacon in. Oh, and dill pickle cashews from Target. Sometimes pickled Pepperoncini. Obviously, I have been playing around. All I need were some grapes! No matter how much I play around with ingredients, I always know I’ll be happy with the three simple ingredients Mom used as a base.

Leave a Reply

