Pear Preserves

Pear Preserves is probably my favorite preserves of all!

Every year around this time, I want to make Pear Preserves.

I don’t always get to, but thanks to my sweet sister-in law, Martha,

I did this year and I am so glad!

In fact, I plan on picking, peeling, and slicing some

more pears tonight!

I can’t wait to try it on some of these homemade biscuits!

I don’t really have a recipe, but here’s what I did…

By the time I  peeled, cored,  and sliced the pears I was left with 2 ice cream buckets full.

I covered the slices with sugar and put the lids on to sit overnight.  I didn’t measure anything, just kept in mind that most people put 1 part sugar to 2 parts pears.  My friend said her mom says 1/2 cup sugar to every 1 cup of pears but that might be too much, depending on how sweet you want them.  I think I might have used 5 or so cups of sugar.

I cooked the pears about a total of 3 hours on medium high heat.  About this time, they started turning amber colored and the smaller pieces were turning translucent.   They liquid was similar to honey so I knew the pears were ready.

I then poured the  preserves into sterilized jars, leaving 1/2 inch headroom and sealed with sterilized lids.

Yield: 4 pints and 2 half-pints

For more recipes, visit these sites…

Granny’s Pear Preserves

Pear Preserves with Lemon Slices

Southern Lady Cooks Pear Preserves

3 responses to “Pear Preserves

  1. These preserves look wonderful. I wish we lived closer so I could have one of your biscuits with these preserves. Thanks for the listing. Have a great weekend.

  2. This sure helped me with canning my pears. The ladies at church all said to just cover them with sugar & cook them down the next day. Thanks for the measurements that helped.

Leave a Reply

