Help on my homemade biscuit quest

I’m on the quest for the perfect biscuit.

I plan on trying a new recipe on Saturday.  This cooler weather always makes me want to bake!

Do you have or know of a fabulous biscuit recipe I should try?

I’m looking for plain and simple biscuit recipes with no additions like cheese or spices…one you’d have for breakfast with your sausage gravy and eggs.  🙂

Anyway, if you have a great recipe, please post the link or recipe  in the comments section.

Thanks!

4 responses to “Help on my homemade biscuit quest

  1. Hi, my grandmother used to make these biscuts. We always called them “Angel Biscuts”. They’re light and not too difficult to put together. Good luck.

    Angel Biscuits

    1 pkg. active dry yeast
    1/4 cup warm water
    2 cups buttermilk (room temperature)
    5 cups all-purpose flour
    1/4 cup granulated sugar
    1 Tbsp. baking powder
    1 tsp. baking soda
    1 Tbsp. salt
    1 cup lard, chilled (don’t substitute)
    melted butter for brushing biscuits

    Dissolve yeast in warm water and let stand for 5 mins. Stir in buttermilk. Mix dry ingredients in large mixing bowl. Whisk to blend.

    With your fingertips blend the chilled yeard into the cry ingredients until 1/2 mixture resembles coarse meal and the other half large peas. Stir in yeast and buttermilk and mix until ingredients are just blended.

    Turn dough onto slightly floured surface and knead 6-8 times. Rollout to 1/2″ thickness. Using 2 1/2-3″ biscuit cutter stamp out biscuits.

    Place on lightly greased cookie sheet leaving space in between. Cover tightly with plastic wrap and allow to rise in a warm place for 50 mins.

    Remove plastic wrap and bake in 450 degree oven for 10-12 mins. or until light golden brown. Brush the tops with melted butter when removed from the oven.

    They’re to die for with stew or great jam. Good luck! Susie

    • I do love a good yeast bread! My friend Karen makes Angel Biscuits with mayo and sugar! This recipe sounds awesome. As soon as I get some more yeast, I plan on trying these. Thanks for sharing.

      • My biscuit recipe was handed down to me from my mother and grandmother. It was a “rite of passage” for me upon marriage, to be able to make them light, fluffy and delicious just like from my childhood. It took a while and lots of practice, but they are the perfect southern biscuit. Just 3 ingredients and the trick is to just not handle them too much or they will be hard as a brick!!
        For a 12″ skillet: (pour a bit of veg oil in the bottom of the skillet)
        3 Cups Self-rising flour
        2 Tablespoons veg. oil
        Buttermilk
        Put the flour and oil in a bowl. Then, slowly begin adding buttermilk. Stir and mix until batter has the “wetness” of cornbread batter. Don’t add too much or you will have to add more flour and then you may have way too many biscuits! (That is what they say, however, what really is too many biscuits?) I use an ice cream scoop for size. Scoop out dough and roll in a bit of flour to shape and place in skillet. Continue until skillet is full and pat a little oil on top of each one as you flatten. Place in 400 degree oven until golden and done to the touch. Enjoy!

      • This is exactly the kind of recipe I’ve been wanting to try…one with oil. I have always thought that a biscuit would need a solid fat for proper rising, but I have a friend and a BIL who uses oil, so I’l super excited to try this recipe.

        And for it to be part of your heritage! How special is that?! I love family recipes. I wish I had more of my mom’s.

        Thank you so much for stopping by and sharing this family recipe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

