Turnip Fries

You either love’m or hate’m!  I found them quite tasty, but not crispy.  I may try baking them next time.

I used a large turnip and tried to cut it into equal fry-like pieces.  I deep fried mine, but the most popular way to cook them seems to be to bake them with parmesan cheese and spices.  Yum!

See links to more recipes at the bottom of this post.

Baked Turnip Fries at Cook Local

Crispy Turnip Fries

Turnip and Sweet Potato Fries

Crispy Turnip Fries 2

 

4 responses to “Turnip Fries

  1. Those look yummy, I’ve never tried them. I have only had luck making turnips in stew so they soak up the broth, otherwise they have an odd taste I can’t handle. Does frying them change that? I will have to try it, as turnips are lower in carbs than potatoes so its worth a shot!

  2. These look good. They look just like french fries. Turnips are one thing I cannot eat and just don’t like cooked. I can eat them raw with a dip. I wonder if I would like them this way.

    • A Southern gal that can’t eat turnips?! I’m shocked. lol

      Just kidding. I’ve never cared for turnips cooked or raw and don’t like turnip greens or really any kind of greens. My mom loved them and thought she was really having something when she had a bowl of turnip greens and a slice of cornbread!

      But, these turnip fries I can eat. I must admit the baked ones look really good!

Leave a Reply

