Poor Man’s Crab Cakes

Got some canned chicken?

Make these delicious and low carb “crab” cakes tonight!

BRUCE’S POOR MAN’S CRAB CAKES 

16-18 ounces canned chicken
1 1/2 teaspoons Old Bay seasoning
2 tablespoons fresh herbs, such as parsley and chives, chopped
2 tablespoons green onion tops, finely chopped
1/4 cup mayonnaise
1 egg
Pinch salt, optional
Pinch pepper
1/4 cup coconut oil

Break the chicken up into very small bits.  Squeeze all of the moisture out of the meat.  Mix all of the ingredients and shape in 4 patties.  I put a sheet of wax paper on a small baking sheet then dropped the chicken mixture into piles. I used my hands to shape each pile into a patty.  Cover with plastic wrap and chill at least 1 hour.

Heat the coconut oil in a skillet  over medium heat. Fry the patties 4-5 minutes per side, flipping carefully, until golden brown on each side.  Drain on a paper towel and serve.

Makes 2-4 servings.

COOK’S NOTE: I like to serve these with a type of tartar sauce made by combining 1/2 cup mayo, 2 tablespoons of lemon juice, and 1 tablespoon Old Bay Seasoning.  Since we like garlic, I’ll usually add a dash of powdered garlic, too.

DISCLAIMER: If you purchase from the links in this post you are helping support Heart of a Country Home at no extra charge to yourself.  Thanks for your kindness.




7 responses to “Poor Man’s Crab Cakes

  1. Sounds yummy and certainly fits my budget more that crab.

  2. LOL…really love the name of this recipe! 🙂 They sound delicous to me!

    Amy

  3. What a great idea, these Poor Mans Crab Cakes sound really delicious and I am going to try them out. Thank you so much for bringing them to Full Plate Thursday and please come back!

  4. Oh my! These look so good. I will definitely make these. Thanks.

  5. That must be it. I’m making these SOON!

  6. I can’t wait to try these. They are so brown and pretty. I don’t see flour or planko used. I’m wondering how they brown and stay together so nicely.

Leave a Reply

