Holiday Candy and Cookie Trays

Happy New Year!

And Happy Birthday to me!

Yesterday I turned another year older.

Since I was so busy over the holidays, I didn’t get to share with

you the holiday candy and cookie trays I made for my family

and friends.   Here’s just a few that I sent out.

Peanut Butter Balls, Coconut Macaroons, Peanut Butter Fudge

(I used my PB Fudge recipe and added 3 tablespoons of cocoa)

Nut Crescent Cookies (recipe below)

Coconut Macaroon, Choco Chip Oatmeal Bars,

Peanut Butter Balls, Peanut Butter Fudge,

White Chocolate Dipped Pretzels,

& Applesauce Nut Cake

(same items as above)


Hello Dollies, Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge

Here’s the recipe for the cookies:

Nut Crescent Cookies

  • 1/2 cup unsalted softened butter
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup ground nuts (I used walnuts and pecans)
  • dash salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • confectioners’ sugar

 

Preheat oven to 325°. In a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar.  Mix in flour, walnuts, salt, and vanilla to make a smooth dough.  Roll into balls and shape into crescents.  (I also flattened some into round cookies.)
Bake cookies on ungreased cookie sheets for about 8-11 minutes, or until just set.  Let stand for 2 minutes; transfer to wire racks to cool.
Dredge in or sprinkle with confectioners’ sugar.  Keep in air-proof container.  Makes about 3 dozen cookies.
.
Over the next few days I’ll be sharing some other dishes I made over the holidays.  Some will be low carb, others not so low carb, but my plans are to go back to the low carb lifestyle full time.  I just feel better that way.
.
My family doesn’t eat low carb and insists on the old fashioned Southern-style dishes and desserts that I make on occasion.  So be sure and stop by soon as I’m sure there’s a recipe coming up soon that you’ll enjoy.
.
Also this year, I want to focus more on things other than food and recipes.  My daughters want to their rooms redecorated and there’s some ideas I have for redecorating my kitchen that I’ll be sharing.
.
Another goal I have this year is to exercise at least 4 times weekly.  I have started walking in the evenings and I want to continue to do that as well as adding some light weight lifting and stretching.  So I may be sharing these updates as well.
.
Once again, Happy New Year to you and yours!



Leave a Reply

