Sausage Pumpkin Soup

It’s soup time!

.

The weather is just right, so I made a big pot of this hearty low carb soup.  It’s very rich and filling.


I’ve heard that is is good made with all types of sausage and even ham.  Now that sounds like a great choice!   Might have to try that soon myself.

My niece blessed me with some fresh, fairly lean sausage so I used that and had very little grease to drain at all.  Here’s how I did it:

Sausage Pumpkin Soup

1 1/2 lbs breakfast sausage
1 1/2 cups sliced mushrooms
1 cup cream
1 cup water
4 cups chicken broth
1  15 oz. can pumpkin
½ tsp garlic powder
½ tsp onion powder
sea salt & black pepper to taste

In a large stew pot or Dutch oven, brown the sausage , drain if necessary and add spices and mushrooms.  Keep stirring and cooking until browned.  Add broth and pumpkin.  Stir until combined.  Stir in cream.  Simmer for 45 minutes or do as I did . . .

I had to leave for a while so I decided to finish cooking the soup in the crock pot.  I was gone for 2 hours.  When I returned, it was steaming hot and ready to eat.

. . . . . 0 O o . . . . .

Today I’m joining a link party over at


Remodelaholic

. . . . . 0 O o . . . . .


4 responses to “Sausage Pumpkin Soup

  1. Could you specify the quantities of spices? Thanks!

  2. Congratulations on y our stick2itness! Good weight loss,
    good pumpkin soup recipe. Hoping you will stay with LC
    forever.

    Your friend in LC4Life
    barbo

    • Barb, I’ve been trying to LC for 10 years, I’m hoping my next 10 will be better! 😀
      Thanks for stopping by and for your encouraging comments.

  3. I think this is something that I would make. It looks wonderful. I already have everything to make it. I will have to try it this weekend.

Leave a Reply

