Smoked Turkey Salad

This is surprisingly yummy!

I say surprisingly because I wasn’t sure how it would turn out.   After my hubby smoked the turkey breast,  it was a little on the dry side and not very tasty.

.

After sitting in the fridge overnight, it was better, but still dry.  I didn’t want to waste it so I got to searching for turkey salad recipes.

.

First of all, I pulled out my Joy of Cooking.  Sure enough, there was a Turkey Salad recipe in there and I had all the ingredients except curry powder.   I wasn’t sure I wanted curried turkey salad anyway, so being the Queen of Substitutions, I proceeded to make my own version.

.

I sliced, then chopped the smoked turkey breast into small chunks.

.

I ran the turkey breast and onions through the food processor, then dumped it into a mixing bowl.

I then added mayo, honey mustard, raisins, chopped pecans, celery seed, salt and pepper.  I even threw in a dash of nutmeg.

.

If only I had some leafy green lettuce to put it on!  I didn’t, so I proceeded to put it on some honey wheat bread and had some plain Lays potato chips to go with it.  Yum!

.

My daughter ate it with Ritz crackers and loved it!

.

(Sorry for the poor picture quality.  Time was short.)

Smoked Turkey Salad
 
2 cups chopped smoked turkey breast
2 tablespoons diced onion
3/4 cup mayo
2 tablespoons honey mustard
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 teaspoon celery seed (or chopped celery if you have it)
dash of salt, pepper, nutmeg to taste
 
Mix all together in a medium size bowl.  Serve on lettuce with crackers or on a toasted bun or bread.

Note:  This was better the next day, so maybe chilling in the fridge first to let the flavors blend makes a difference.
 
* To reduce carbs, use regular or spicy mustard, remove the raisins, and if you like it a little sweeter add a small package of Splenda or sweetener of your choice.

 

 

5 responses to “Smoked Turkey Salad

  1. Just ran across your site. Hi from Kentucky!

  2. Lisa, I guess it must be set up. I did get a notice about these comments.

    Here lately, you and Southernlady64 are my biggest “fans”/commentors. 😀

    Thanks for all the Southern support!

  3. This sounds wonderful and I love turkey. I will have to get a turkey breast and try this recipe. I am copying it down. Thanks for sharing this one.

  4. That sounds delish!! Your pics are fine:) Thanks for the recipe!! It has everything I like in it, yea, me!!

    PS. I added you to my google reader so now I won’t miss your posts!

    Oh, and I meant to ask you…have you set up an email for your blog? I’m not sure how it works with wordpress but it can’t to too different than blogger, idk.
    You can set it up so that any comment that is left can go straight to your inbox…then you can reply back etc. It’s very cool:)

Leave a Reply

