Vintage Recipe ~ Aunt Mary’s “Quick Crunchies” aka Rice Krispie Date Balls

I love looking through Aunt Mary’s little recipe box.  She was one of the best home cooks I ever knew and I always enjoyed eating at her house.

Many days she would call my mom at work and tell her the soup was on.   She almost always had homemade yeast rolls rising in muffin tins.  She’d sit the trays on her hot water heater behind the kitchen door.  I’d lift the tea towel that covered the rolls to inhale the yeasty smell of dough rising.

Good memories.

I found this quick little candy recipe in her recipe box.  I’ve been wanting to try a recipe with dates so I decided this one would work nicely.  This is just one candy I made during the past holidays.  Hope you enjoy!

Aunt Mary’s “Quick Crunchies” aka Rice Krispy Date Balls

1 stick butter
3/4 c. sugar
1 (8 oz.) chopped dates
1 c. pecans, chopped
2 c. crispy rice cereal
1 tsp. vanilla
coconut, for rolling

In saucepan, melt butter and sugar over low heat. Add dates and
cook 3 minutes or until mixture thickens and remove from heat.

Add nuts, crispy rice cereal, and vanilla. When cool enough to handle,
form small balls and roll in coconut.

More of Aunt Mary’s Recipes

6 responses to “Vintage Recipe ~ Aunt Mary’s “Quick Crunchies” aka Rice Krispie Date Balls

  1. These sound yummy. I love your recipe box with your handwritten cards! I have one of my Grandma’s old recipe boxes and I cherish it so much.

  2. www.youtube.com

    Heya this is kinda of off topic but I was wondering
    if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have
    to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding expertise so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

    • on this blog, I don’t have to use any coding. I guess it’s done for me. It’s easy or otherwise I’d probably not know how to post. :)

  3. This was always my favorite cookie. My mom used to make these for me each Christmas. It brought back memories.

    • I made some the other day and I commented to my that these taste just like the holidays. Next, I’m gonna try to make these paleo style. :)

Leave a Reply

