Roasted Cherry Tomato Focaccia Bread

My nephew blessed me with a bunch of cherry tomatoes.  

I had been wanting to try roasted cherry tomatoes for a while so I figured this was the best time.  What a delight!

Roasted Cherry Tomatoes (Ina Garten)

4 pints cherry tomatoes
Good olive oil
Kosher salt
Freshly ground black pepper
20 fresh basil leaves, chopped or julienned  (I used some dried spice here)
Sea salt

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

 Toss the tomatoes lightly with olive oil on a sheet pan.  Spread them out into one layer and sprinkle generously with kosher salt and pepper.  Roast for 15 to 20 minutes, until the tomatoes are soft.   (I wanted mine a little drier so I left them in about 45 minutes while checking on them ever so often.)

Transfer the tomatoes to a serving platter and sprinkle with basil leaves and sea salt.   Serve hot or at room temperature.

They are so tasty right by themselves, but I wanted to make a focaccia bread so I prepared the dough and topped with the roasted tomatoes.

Here’s the bread ready to go into the oven.

.

When it came out, it looked like this.

It was quite delicious fresh out of the oven and would have gone great with a salad.

Easiest Focaccia Bread

1 teaspoon white sugar

1 (.25 ounce) package active dry yeast

1/3 cup warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons olive oil

1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions:

In a small bowl, dissolve sugar and yeast in warm water. Let stand until creamy, about 10 minutes.

In a large bowl, combine the yeast mixture with flour; stir well to combine. Stir in additional water, 1 tablespoon at a time, until all of the flour is absorbed. When the dough has pulled together, turn it out onto a lightly floured surface and knead briefly for about 1 minute.

Lightly oil a large bowl, place the dough in the bowl and turn to coat with oil.  Cover with a damp cloth and let rise in a warm place until doubled in volume, about 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 475 degrees F .

Deflate the dough and turn it out onto a lightly floured surface; knead briefly. Pat or roll the dough into a sheet and place on a lightly greased baking sheet. Brush the dough with oil.   At this time add the roasted tomatoes and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Bake focaccia in preheated oven for 12 to 22 minutes, depending on desired crispness. If you like it moist and fluffy, then you’ll have to wait just about 12 minutes.  If you like it crunchier and darker in the outside, you may have to wait 22minutes.  Mine was baked for about 22 minutes.

Later on my sweet sister-in-law called me over for supper.  Here’s what we had.  I’m ashamed to say this is my plate!  lol

My hubby cooked the fish and I made the corn salad and hush puppies.  My sister-in-law made everything else and my brother–in-law made his famous Banana Pudding.

What a delicious Southern supper made greater by time spent with family!

Linking to

3 responses to “Roasted Cherry Tomato Focaccia Bread

  1. Wow, I need to do this! It looks absolutely fabulous!

    • Thanks! Sorry for the quality of my pictures! I had to use my cell phone as my daughter had the camera with her. I need to add that to my wish list : NEW CAMERA! lol

      Thanks for stopping by.

  2. That plate of food just made me start salivating over it. I could eat it all right now and I love focaccia bread. All your posts look so good. Hope you are doing well and enjoying the weekend.

Leave a Reply

