Chocolate Oatmeal No Bake Cookies (sugar free)

This is not the post I had in mind, but since I have wireless problems, this one will do.  I’ve been wanting to share it anyway.

One night I came home late and wanted Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies.  My Aunt Mary used to make the best!  She always had the ingredients on hand.  We’d watch as she brought everything to a boil and boiled for just 1 minute and the cookie recipe worked every time.

I’ve never been able to boil for just one minute and get the cookies to harden up.

A friend shared that she uses the water test method…when the syrup becomes a “soft ball” and doesn’t fall apart when dropped into a cool cup of water, then it’s ready.  This takes anywhere from 3 – 5 minutes usually in my experience.

Using Splenda totally changes this recipe.  It’s not just the best since Splenda and chocolate are somewhat bitter with each other, but you can try changing it up and using your own sweetener blend.  They must have been pretty good, tho since my girls finished them up!

Chocolate Oatmeal No Bake Cookies (using Splenda)

2 cups granulated Splenda
3 tablespoons cocoa
1 stick butter
1/2 cup milk (try using Almond Milk or Coconut Milk for fewer carbs)
1 tsp. vanilla
2 1/2 cups quick-cooking oatmeal (may try gluten free oatmeal)
1/2 cup Jif Natural peanut butter

Combine Splenda,  cocoa, butter and milk in a saucepan. On medium heat, bring to a boil for around 2-4 minutes, or until syrup seems to thicken up.  (I can’t remember if I tried the “soft ball stage” test on this recipe.  I think I just cooked the mixture until it started coating the spoon.  It was right around 3-4 minutes of boiling time. )

Remove from heat. Stir in peanut butter (optional), vanilla and oatmeal.  Drop by spoonful onto a wax paper lined sheet pan.  Let cool for at least 30 minutes.

. . . . .

More great  No Bake Cookie recipes you might enjoy:

Linda Sue’s CHOCOLATE LOW CARB NO-BAKE COOKIES

DISCLAIMER: If you purchase from the links in this post you are helping support Heart of a Country Home at no extra charge to yourself.  Thanks and Happy Holidays!

Today I’m sharing with

10 responses to “Chocolate Oatmeal No Bake Cookies (sugar free)

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year and 2011 Top Posts | Heart of a Country Home

  2. Did you actually TRY this? The splena wasnt enough, and before it came to a boil there was hardly ANY mixture left. The oats were too much. I think maybe you need to double or triple the splenda. I have found this is true in many recipes I have used splenda in. It can take 2 to 3 times as much. I wasted 2 batches of no bake cookies trying to use this recipe. It does NOT work as shown. Maybe if you didnt boil the splenda?

    • It’s been a while, but yes, I did make this recipe. The picture you see with the post is the result. I have not made it lately as I’m not low carbing at the moment. I’m not crazy about the Splenda and chocolate taste, so I’ve not tried the recipe lately. Maybe I overestimated the oatmeal. I have a recipe that calls for 2.5 cups of oatmeal and that might be what I used, but I didn’t have any problem with the lack of chocolate mixture. Did you add the butter and milk? Sorry for the problems with the recipe. Thanks for your input.

    • double all ingredients except the oats. This works for me.

    • Glenn Robare

      Hi Paul, I tried this recipe and used the Splenda Brown Sugar and it seemed to work better than the regular Splenda and added a better flavor. I melted the butter first and added the milk, cocoa and then put the Splenda in last until it came to a boil and then boiled it for one minute more. The cookies were a lot better by this method, also I used 3 cups of oatmeal and fat free milk…

      • that’s great to know! Thanks for taking the time to try this and stop and leave feedback. :)I really need to make these again soon. I might try another sweetener such as Truvia or Swerve just to see if there is a difference.

  3. I made as directed and they came out as pictured. I used unsweetened almond milk and made 25 cookies, 68.5 kcal and 5.96 net carb. Not same as my sugar ones but still good. May experiment with other sweeteners.

    • That is great to know. I’m thinking another sweetener or blend of sweeteners would work better. I just tried the Ideal sweetener at Kroger and now it’s gone. I was so disappointed because it is so good! It’s derived from the Stevia plant and tasted awesome!

  4. This is a good recipe but the use of Splenda is really not good for diabetics, so use with caution, as it can raise your levels.

Leave a Reply

