Coconut Pecan Frosting

pecanfrost1

I don’t usually care for German Chocolate Cake

with Coconut Pecan Frosting.  I’m not sure what it is.  I love chocolate cake and I love the Coconut Pecan Frosting, but the two together have never impressed me.  I’ve really tried to like it…what is there not to like?

So, having all the ingredients on hand and wanting to try a new-to-me recipe, I decided to use that chocolate cake mix that I had picked up on sale and top it with a delicious homemade Coconut Pecan Frosting.  I skipped the ton of cookbooks that I have and immediately Googled for the recipe.

Here’s the “traditional” recipe.

Coconut Pecan Frosting

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup evaporated milk, half-and-half, or heavy cream
  • 3 large egg yolks
  • 8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1 1/3 cups flaked sweetened dried coconut
  • 1 1/3 cups chopped pecans

Combine sugar, milk, egg yolks, and butter in a medium saucepan. Cook, stirring constantly, over medium heat until the mixture is thickened and bubbling gently around the edges. Reduce the heat to low and cook, stirring for 1 to 2 minutes more. Remove from heat and stir in the coconut and pecans. Let cool until spreadable. This keeps, refrigerated, for about 1 week. Soften before using.  The only change I made was to use 1/2 cup evaporated milk and 1/2 cup heavy cream.

The frosting turned out to be delicious, the cake was another thing…drier than usual.  Most everyone was eating the frosting and tossing the cake!  So that’s a mistake I hope to never make again. 

I’d like to make the Coconut Pecan Frosting again, but top a different cake.  Maybe a Fresh Apple Cake…or a Piña Colada Cake…or a yummy Sour Cream Pound Cake.  Maybe I could use the  Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake recipe.  

The options are endless!   What do you think?

9 responses to “Coconut Pecan Frosting

  1. Does anyone know how to prepare only the DRY ingredients for coconut pecan frosting? Please help. Thanks, Dot

  2. Hi, Jillian, actually I am attempting to make pie crust from those ingredients for a peanut butter/chocolate pie. I need to understand how to prepare(measurements). I am not the greatest baker, but at least 10 years ago I made this particular crust with a boxed coconut pecan frosting mix, the pie was amazing. I can not find the boxed mix in any super markets in my area. I don’t believe it’s produced anymore. I would be most grateful if you can give me any suggestions. Thank you so much for responding to me.

    • That sounds very delicious, but not familiar. I don’t recall a boxed dry icing. Is it going to be a graham cracker crust? Maybe you can make a regular graham cracker crust and add coconut and pecans? Sounds really tasty to me.

  3. thanks, I’ll try your suggestion.

  4. Dot-

    I know exactly what you are talking about, and I cant find it either! I use it in a coffee cake. I did find an alternative.
    1 c sweetened flaked coconut
    3/4 c brown sugar, firmly packed
    1/2 c flour
    1/2 c chopped pecans
    Mix ingredients
    3 tbsp butter
    Cut butter in to mixture.

    Going to make it for Christmas morning.

  5. Bless you, Kim, that’s exactly what I have been looking for. Now I can make that awesome pie. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year and thsnks a million! Dot

  6. Mildred Nelson

    Does anyone know how to prepare only the DRY ingredients for coconut pecan frosting?

    I need the dry recipe to layer into a banana bundt cake.
    The top layer is also the frosting…..all before baking.
    Cake mixture, frosting, cake mixture, frosting. This banana cake is delicious

Leave a Reply

